You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 24, 2008.

I don’t know the last time I’ve been to a move. Jeff and I don’t go much. We usually aren’t interested enough to make the commitment of paying $9.50 each and having some teenage know-it-all kicking our chairs. So we wait till video. But not this time….oh no. If you’ve been reading our blog you’ll know there is much batman love in this house. Last Friday Dark Knight opened and we couldn’t find a babysitter. So Jeff went opening night at 10 p.m. and I went Saturday morning at 9 a.m.

Then of course there is Mama Mia!!! I was sooo excited for this movie to come out. My mom took me and my sisters to see the Broadway a few years ago and we loved it so much. I’m nowhere near my family right now being in Nashville and I knew Jeff would rather eat grasshoppers than see that movie, so I asked some girls in the ward to go. Now on for the reviews.

Dark Knight: Amazing. It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. Believe me I’m the kind of girl who makes Jeff come into the bathroom with me when I’m scared.  It was certainly more of a physiological thriller than previous Batman movies. I have to start off by praising Christian Bale. He has been my all time favorite male actor since Newsies. I think the much underrated actor is now getting the attention he deserves. Although I kind of liked it that he wasn’t the A-list, blockbuster hunk of Hollywood. Heath Ledger I’m sure will certainly get an Oscar for this performance. Even though it wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be, I still would be cautious about taking a kid to this movie. Maggie Gylenhal was ok. I mean, I think she was better than Katie Holmes, but the character of Rachel Dawes is just a whiny character. So full of guilt trips. But if you’ve seen Batman Begins, you already know that.

Mama Mia: I seriously wanted a slumber party with the girls after seeing this movie. I’ll be honest, I’m not one for Chick flicks. I didn’t like My Best Friends Wedding, How to lose a guy in 10 Days, or any of the other “two people meet, they usually annoy each other at first, then fall in love, do something secretly bad, the other person finds out what that something bad is, hate each other, realize they are really in love, and life is just dandy” kind of movie. You know the ones I’m talking about. But Mama Mia………soooooo good. I know most of the girls my age probably listened to Abba growing up. I can’t be the only one who listed to my mother’s music! It’s not just the music though, the cast was awesome, the dancing was awesome. It has so much energy, you will want to get up and dance in the theater. I hope I’m not hyping it up too much, but I am dying to see it again.

If any of you have seen these movies, let me know what you think. I know they just came out, but i like to get people’s opinions. If you haven’t seen them. GO SEE THEM!

About Us

Welcome to the Chugg blog, started by Jeff, written by Jeff & Chemenn and mostly decorated by pictures of Lincoln & Emmett. This was created for an easy way to keep in touch with friends and family from the coast of Seattle all the way to the Big Apple and everyone in between, right here in the heart of Memphis, Tennessee!

Pages

July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031